Holiday Geology Picture (2): Yardang, Gansu, NW China

Happy Boxing Day! I am continuing my Holiday Geology Picture series. The geology picture I have here is from Mainland China.

This is a landscape called “Yardang” in Chinese. It means a series of small mounds formed by wind erosion. The picture was taken in 2004 when I visited the most easily accessible part of the Silkroad in northwest China. I traveled from Gansu Province to Xinjiang Province for more than 2 weeks. The site is close to Dunhuang and now is a national geopark in China.

I could not remember now the details of the rock formation. If my memory is correct, they are sandstones that formed in the mid-Pleistocene.

This entry was posted in China, Geology. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holiday Geology Picture (2): Yardang, Gansu, NW China

  1. Pingback: Holiday Geology Picture (3): Permafrost, Northern Xinjiang, China | life as a geologist

Leave a Reply

